The African Union (AU) successfully concluded the 16th Ordinary Meeting of the Specialized Technical Committee on Defence, Safety and Security (STCDSS), at the AU Headquarters in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. The meeting, held on 5 June 2024, was preceded by a Meeting of Experts and the 19th meeting of Chiefs of Defense Staff and Heads of Safety and Security Services on 3 and 4 June 2024, respectively. It brought together delegates from forty (40) AU Member States and representatives from Regional Economic Communities and Regional Mechanisms, which included the East Africa Standby Force Secretariat (EASF), the Commission of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), North African Regional Capability Secretariat (NARC), Southern African Development Community Secretariat (SADC), the Arab Maghreb Union (UMA) and the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa Secretariat (COMESA) were also in attendance.

The meeting was Chaired by His Excellency Hanana Ould Sidi, Minister of Defence of the 

Islamic Republic Mauritania, who guided the proceedings of the meeting. Opening remarks were also made by His Excellency Ambassador Bankole Adeoye, AU Commissioner for Political Affairs Peace and Security and Dr. Alhaji Sarjoh Bah, Director of Conflict Management Directorate, who delivered a comprehensive presentation on the State of Peace and Security in Africa, and an update on the prevailing security landscape, contemporary dynamics and challenges faced across the continent.

The Meeting deliberated on several crucial agenda items, culminating in the endorsement of strategic recommendations for enhanced continental security and cooperation. These include the conduct of an extensive review of the African Standby Force (ASF) in accordance with a roadmap, whose outcomes will be presented at the next STCDSS meeting. The meeting also endorsed the adoption of policies central to the operationalization of the ASF, including the AU Training Policy for Peace Support Operations, the AU Strategic Lift Concept, and the Guidelines for Case Management in Peace Support Operations.

The Committee adopted the report of its 16th meeting of the STCDSS, which will be submitted along with its recommendations to the 45th Ordinary Session of the Executive Council of the African Union, for onward transmission to the 38th Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the Union in February 2025.

For further information please contact:

Ms. Lulit Kebede, Communication Officer | Political Affairs, Peace and Security Department | African Union Commission Tel: +251 115 517 700 | E-mail: | Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

Ms. Doreen Apollos | Directorate of Information and Communication| African Union Commission | E-mail and Communication Directorate, African Union Commission I E-mail: I Web: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia | Follow Us: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube

Posted by Lulit Kebede

We use cookies on our website and mobile app to improve content display and overall user experience. The cookies we use do not store personally identifiable information nor can they harm your computer.
We intend to provide you with the right knowledge on-demand at the right time and in the appropriate format to ensure that you engage the African Union constructively in your specific role.
If you have any questions please contact directly PAPS Digitial Support Officer at

Headquarters - Addis ababa